James Merrill House-36.jpg



Civitella Henri headshot (2).tif

HENRI COLE  was born in Fukuoka, Japan. He has published ten volumes of poetry, including Middle Earth (2003), finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and his most recent collection Blizzard (2020). His memoir Orphic Paris, was published in 2018. From 1982-1988, he was executive director of the Academy of American Poets. He currently teaches at Claremont McKenna College.

MARLON JAMES gave the 16th Annual Merrill Lecture in May. He is the author of four novels, including A Brief History of Seven Killings, winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize. His  most recent book, Black Leopard, Red Wolf, was a National Book Award Fiction finalist. Born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1970, James divides his time between Minnesota and New York City.

MICHAEL COLLIER is author, most recently, of The Missing Mountain: New and Selected Poems, as well as a translation of Euripides’ Medea and a volume of essays, Make Us Wave Back. Recipient of an Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters among others, he served as Maryland Poet Laureate and is director emeritus of Bread Loaf Writers’ Conferences. He lives in Vermont.

JOhn Cotter (1).jpg

JOHN COTTER has written a memoir, Losing Music, forthcoming from Milkweed Editions, and is author of Under the Small Lights, winner of the Miami University Press novella contest. He’s contributed essays, theater pieces, and fiction to New England Review, Raritan, Georgia Review, Commonweal and elsewhere. He teaches at Lighthouse Writers Workshop in Denver, Colorado.

KAMRAN JAVADIZADEH was born in Los Angeles, received his Ph.D. from Yale in 2008, and is an associate professor at Villanova University, where he works on the history of poetry and poetics. His first book, Institutionalized Lyric: American Poetry at Midcentury, is forthcoming from Oxford University Press. He’s currently writing a book that braids poetry, family history, and the Iranian diaspora.

MEHDI TAVANA OKASI is Associate Professor of Creative Writing at SUNY/Purchase. His work has appeared in literary journals and anthologies, including Best New American Voices 2009 and &Tremors: New Fiction from Iranian-American Writers, among others. A 2016 National Endowment for the Arts Fiction Fellow, he is completing a novel, May This Be Your Last Sorrow.

ROBERT WOOD LYNN won the 2021 Yale Younger Poets Award for his debut collection, Mothman Apologia. A graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, he is an MFA candidate in poetry at New York University, where he teaches creative writing in the undergraduate writing program and serves as Art Editor for the Washington Square Review.

LAUREN SANDLER  is a journalist and nonfiction author whose work focuses on gender and inequality. Her most recent book is This is All I Got: A New Mother’s Search For Home, a 2020 New York Times Notable Book. She has been on staff at Salon and NPR, a columnist at HuffPost, and has held a Poynter Journalism Fellowship at Yale and a Calderwood Journalism Fellowship at MacDowell.


Peter Hawkins (1995–1996)

Scott Westrem (1996–1997) 

Daniel Hall (1997–1998, YYP 1989) 

Annie Deppe (1998–1999) 

Ted Deppe (1998–1999) 

Aidan Wasley (1999–2000) 

Michael Madonick (2000–2001) 

Brigit Pegeen Kelly (2000–2001, YYP 1987) 

Molly McQuade (Fall 2001) 

Jeffrey Skinner (Spring 2002) 

Sarah Gorham (Spring 2002) 

Paul Merrill (Fall 2002) 

Matthew Zapruder (Spring 2003) 

Michael Tyrell (2003–2004) 

J.S. Marcus (2004–2005) 

Jason Zuzga (2005–2006) 

Michael Snediker (Fall 2006) 

Jacob Gamage (Spring 2007) 

Anna Potter (Spring 2007)

Rick Hilles (Fall 2007) 

Nancy Reisman (Fall 2007) 

Langdon Hammer (Spring 2008) 

Piotr Gwiazda (Fall 2008) 

Ivy Pochoda (Spring 2009) 

Cate Marvin (Fall 2009) 

Bruce Snider (Spring 2010) 

Josh Weil (Fall 2010) 

Jedediah Berry (Spring 2011) 

Will Schutt (Fall 2011, YYP 2012) 

Peter Filkins (Spring 2012) 

Lydia Conklin (September 2012) 

Amy Greacen (October 2012) 

Gimbiya Kettering (November 2012) 

Sally Ball (December 2012) 

James Reidel (Spring 2013) 

Dan O'Brien (June 2013) 

Caitlin Doyle (September 2013) 

Amy Beeder (October 2013) 

Mieke Eerkens (November 2013) 

Brittany Perham (December 2013-January 2014) 

Peter Kline (December 2013-January 2014)

Kelle Groom (Spring 2014)

Eryn Green (June 2014, YYP 2013)

Molly Anders (September 2014)

Ahimsa Timoteo Bodhrán (October 2014)

Anna Noyes (November 2014)

Adam Wilson (November 2014)

Kathleen Winter (December 2014-January 2015)

Damiano Abeni (Spring 2015)

Moira Egan (Spring 2015)

Ansel Elkins (June 2015, YYP 2014)

Kay Ryan (Invited Summer Fellow, July 2015)

Susan Steinberg (September 2015)

Julia Glass (October 2015)

Terese Svoboda (November 2015)

Geri Doran (December 2015-January 2016)

Adam Giannelli (Spring 2016)

Noah Warren (June 2016, YYP 2015)

Lorrie Moore (Invited Summer Fellow, July 2016)

Nate Klug (September 2016)

Catherine Pond (October 2016)

Jennifer Clarvoe (November 2016)

Caoilinn Hughes (December 2016-January 2017)

Mark Wunderlich (Spring 2017) 

Airea Dee Matthews (June 2017, YYP 2016) 

Walter Perrie (August 2017)

Dan Chiasson (September 2017)

D.M. (Damilola) Aderibigbe (October 2017)

Maxim Loskutoff (November 2017)

Mike Alberti (December 2017-January 2018)

Suzanne Rivecca (Spring 2018)

Duy Doan (June 2018, YYP 2017)

Christa Romanosky (September-October 2018)

Jordan Jacks (November-December 2018

Sigrid Nunez (December 2018-January 2019)

Joanna Scott (Spring 2019)

James Longenbach (Spring 2019)

Yanyi (June 2019, YYP 2018)

Gabriella Gage (August 2019)

Matthew Minicucci (December 2019-January 2020)

Lysley Tenario (February 2020)

Keith Wilson (March 2020-May 2020)

Jill Osier (June 2020, YYP 2019 *residency postponed due to pandemic)

Claire Luchette (July 2020)

Talvikki Ansel (August 2020, YYP 1996)

Walt Hunter (September 2020)

Ryan Chapman (October 2020)

Jennifer Grotz (November 2020)

Nicholas Boggs (December 2020-January 2021)

Kirstin Valdez Quade (February-March 2021)

Greg Wrenn (April-May 2021)

Desiree C. Bailey (June 2021, YYP 2020 )

Armen Davoudian (July-August 2021)

Henri Cole (September 2021)

Marlon James (October 2021)

Michael Collier (November 2021)

John Cotter (January 2022)

Kamran Javadizadeh (February-March 2022)

Medhi Tavana Okasi (April-May 2022)

Robert Wood Lynn (June 2022, YYP 2021)

Lauren Sandler (August 2022) 

James Merrill House-89.jpg

"My months at the James Merrill House are among my most cherished memories of my writing career. The space to write, to think, or to do absolutely nothing was a remarkable opportunity that deeply affected my sense of my creative self. I donate to the Merrill House so that others can enjoy this unique experience in a near mystical setting."


"It is  a gift to be given time and space to write and think. Access to Merrill's library was both a time capsule and a valuable education into another writer's mind; the quiet and scenic environment of Stonington and watching the fog roll off the waves each day helped center the work that I ended up doing."

James Merrill House-89.jpg

"My Writer-in-Residence month at the James Merrill House was a life-affirming experience, both creatively and personally. From mornings writing in the secret study to evenings watching the sun set over the water from the rooftop deck, every day felt like this perfect pearl of inspiration."